Links

Here are some links to my favourite websites.

Arts and entertainment

myNoise Custom Background Noise Machines https://mynoise.net/NoiseMachines/

Weebls Stuff – Animations and sillyness http://weebls-stuff.com/

Adult Swim UK | Adult Swim http://www.adultswim.co.uk/

Black and White Movies http://www.bnwmovies.com/

Free Movies Online | Open Culture http://www.openculture.com/freemoviesonline

Soundmachines on Vimeo https://vimeo.com/35014340

Newsreels, video, archive, film, footage, stills - British Pathé https://www.britishpathe.com/

Lenlow Mashups http://www.lenlow.com/

Wipeout soundtrack https://nfssoundtrack.com/wipeout/

TV Ad Music – Top Advert Songs & Products in the UK https://www.tvadmusic.co.uk/

Cate's Garage Sale Finds http://www.catesgarage.com/

Pixel art http://www.flipflopflyin.com/

Books and literature

National Emergency Library (1.4m books to borrow) https://archive.org/details/nationalemergencylibrary

QuillBot | Free Paraphrasing https://quillbot.com/

Bargain Quality New Books – Online Ogma Books Store https://www.ogmabooks.com/

The Literary Gift Company: Gifts for Book Lovers http://literarygiftcompany.com/

AbeBooks | Shop for Books, Art & Collectables https://www.abebooks.co.uk/

Project Gutenberg offers free ebooks to download http://www.gutenberg.org/

Old Book Illustrations https://www.oldbookillustrations.com/

Pangloss Wisdom http://www.pangloss.com/

Monzo - tone of voice guidance https://monzo.com/tone-of-voice/

Springer Link https://link.springer.com/

Business

100,000 AI-Generated Faces – Free to use! https://generated.photos/

Caslon Limited http://www.caslon.co.uk/

Education and online resources

British History Online | The core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles http://www.british-history.ac.uk/

An open database of 20 million free scholarly articles http://unpaywall.org/

Infobase Publishing http://www.infobasepublishing.com/

Khan Academy | Free Online Courses, Lessons & Practice https://www.khanacademy.org/

W3Schools Online Web Tutorials https://www.w3schools.com/

Coursera | Online Courses From Top Universities https://www.coursera.org/

Visual Editions https://visual-editions.com/

List of 20 Simple, Distinct Colors – Sasha Trubetskoy https://sashat.me/2017/01/11/list-of-20-simple-distinct-colors/

Unicode® character table https://unicode-table.com/en/

Smithsonian Open Access https://www.si.edu/openaccess

Electronics

Small, simple, circuitboards and kits http://www.batsocks.co.uk/

Arduino https://www.arduino.cc/

Electronics tutorials https://www.electronics-tutorials.com/

Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits https://www.adafruit.com/

Electronic education & hobby project kits, tools & resources https://www.kitronik.co.uk/

Nixie Tube Clock Kits - PV Electronics http://www.pvelectronics.co.uk/

element14 Community https://www.element14.com/community/welcome

Useful electronics tutorials http://www.discovercircuits.com/resources/tutorials.html

Arduino projects https://sites.google.com/site/adifferentlemming/Home/projects/arduino

TJ Bot https://ibmtjbot.github.io/

Raspberry Pi

Raspberry Pi as a poor man's hardware hacking tool https://payatu.com/using-rasberrypi-as-poor-mans-hardware-hacking-tool

DAKboard: Create an interactive wall display from a monitor and Raspberry Pi https://magpi.raspberrypi.org/articles/dakboard-wall-display

Easily build a Magic Mirror with a Raspberry Pi and standard 50x50 cm IKEA frame http://www.whatimade.today/easily-build-a-magic-mirror-with-a-raspberry-pi-and-standard-50x50-cm-ikea-frame/

OctaPi: Public Key Cryptography https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/projects/octapi-public-key-cryptography

Games

Witzigs Games Ltd - Educational Games http://www.kentandcleal.co.uk/

CheapAss Games https://cheapass.com/

Puzzle World https://johnrausch.com/PuzzleWorld/

LavaMind https://www.lavamind.com/

Eric C Harshbarger http://www.ericharshbarger.org/

City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/

Game Pile https://gamepile.com/

The Game Cabinet http://www.gamecabinet.com/

Archimedes Laboratory Puzzles and Tests https://www.archimedes-lab.org/

Orisnal Morning Sunshine http://ferryhalim.com/orisinal/ (needs Adobe Flash)

Tenzi https://boingboing.net/2018/02/12/tenzi-dice-game-and-variation.html

American Mall Game https://www.bloomberg.com/features/american-mall-game/

Interior design

Danish design https://fermliving.com/

The Print Room Collection of Fabric and Wallpaper https://www.outlawandoutlaw.com/

West Elm https://www.westelm.co.uk/

Unto This Last https://www.untothislast.co.uk/

Maps

emapsite https://www.emapsite.com/applications/mapshop/

Stanfords https://www.stanfords.co.uk/

World Mapper https://worldmapper.org/

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/maps/

News, web-zines, personal pages and blogs

XKCD | A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language https://xkcd.com/

Nobody Here https://www.nobodyhere.com/

Something Awful https://www.somethingawful.com/

Anxiety Culture http://www.anxietyculture.com/

Boing Boing https://boingboing.net/

The Church of the Subgenius http://www.subgenius.com/

Dack https://dack.com/

Lilecks http://www.lileks.com/

20 of the best vegan and vegetarian hotels and B&Bs in Europe | Travel | The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2019/oct/26/20-best-vegan-vegetarian-hotels-bed-and-breakfast-europe-spain-netherlands-germany

Content Workflow Using Github And Markdown https://www.portent.com/blog/copywriting/content-strategy/content-with-github-markdown.htm

Philosophy, politics, and activism

Constructing a logical argument https://infidels.org/library/modern/mathew/logic.html

Active distribution shop https://www.activedistributionshop.org/shop/

Undercurrents alternative news http://www.undercurrents.org/

Global Issues : social, political, economic and environmental issues that affect us all https://www.globalissues.org/

Ethical Consumer boycotts list https://www.ethicalconsumer.org/ethicalcampaigns/boycotts

Free Range Network http://www.fraw.org.uk/frn/

Permaculture Magazine https://www.permaculture.co.uk/

Media Lens - Correcting for the distorted vision of the corporate media https://www.medialens.org/

News Frames - about media framing https://newsframes.wordpress.com/

Musing Mind (philosophy and consciousness) https://musingmind.org/

Software development

FitText - A plugin for inflating web type http://fittextjs.com/

slabText — a jQuery plugin for creating big, bold & responsive headlines https://freqdec.github.io/slabText/

NodeRed https://nodered.org/

Tania Rascia - Full Stack Software Developer https://www.taniarascia.com/

Experiences of an Agile Business Analyst http://www.its-all-design.com/

Linux Commands Cheat Sheet https://www.linuxtrainingacademy.com/linux-commands-cheat-sheet/

PALX: Automatic UI Color Palette Generator https://palx.jxnblk.com/

Drawing Images with CSS Gradients | CSS-Tricks https://css-tricks.com/drawing-images-with-css-gradients/

Image manipulation https://squoosh.app/

Retro Game Creator https://www.gbstudio.dev/

Getting started with UI design https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2019/12/ui-design-tips-speed-up-workflow/

Technology and computing

VentureBeat | Transformative tech coverage that matters https://venturebeat.com/

How to Jailbreak Firestick [New & Faster Method for Feb 2020] https://troypoint.com/how-to-jailbreak-a-firestick/

Have I Been Pwned: Pwned Passwords https://haveibeenpwned.com/Passwords

GRC's | Password Haystacks: How Well Hidden is Your Needle? https://www.grc.com/haystack.htm

Literary Clock Made From E-reader: 6 Steps (with Pictures) https://www.instructables.com/id/Literary-Clock-Made-From-E-reader/

5 tiny Linux distros to try before you die | Opensource.com https://opensource.com/article/19/6/linux-distros-to-try

A 6 Step Field Guide for Building Machine Learning Projects https://towardsdatascience.com/a-6-step-field-guide-for-building-machine-learning-projects-6e4554f6e3a1

How to get started with AWS AI Services - Towards Data Science https://towardsdatascience.com/how-to-get-started-with-aws-ai-services-877883eecbe1

Homepage | Xnor.ai https://www.xnor.ai/

7 DIY Project Ideas for Putting an Old Raspberry Pi to Use https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/old-raspberry-pi-projects/

Encryption 101: a malware analyst's primer - Malwarebytes Labs | Malwarebytes Labs https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-analysis/2018/02/encryption-101-malware-analysts-primer/

Teachable Machine https://teachablemachine.withgoogle.com/

DC's Improbable Science – Truth, falsehood and evidence: investigations of dubious and dishonest science http://www.dcscience.net/

unDraw https://undraw.co/

Pixel Room Generator by Love Bird https://lovebirdsnest.itch.io/pixel-room-generator

Petalica Paint | Automatic Colorization https://petalica-paint.pixiv.dev/

Fractal Generator http://sirxemic.github.io/ifs-animator/

Speckyboy Design Magazine https://speckyboy.com/

How to host a static website with AWS https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/a-beginners-guide-on-how-to-host-a-static-site-with-aws/

Add subtitles to video https://www.getsubly.com/

Clean up your online presence https://www.deseat.me/